Archived MIPRC News

SuperUser Account
/ Categories: News Archives

White House list includes funding for each Midwestern state that applied

According to a summary list and fact sheets posted on the White House web site late last night, each Midwestern state that applied for a portion of the $8 billion stimulus funding available through the High Speed Intercity Passenger Rail Program has received funding for one or more project.

In total, the Midwest will receive funding over $2.6 billion, to improve track and signaling on existing lines (allowing for faster and more frequent service), to conduct the environmental work necessary to bring higher speed service on other lines, and to conduct feasibility studies for additional service.

Four corridors that had been previously designated by the Federal Railroad Administration as "High-Speed Rail Corridors" -- Minneapolis/St. Paul-Milwaukee-Chicago, Chicago-St. Louis-Kansas City, Cleveland-Columbus-Cincinnati and Detroit-Chicago -- will receive substantive funding.

A summary sheet of the awards nationwide can be found at

Fact sheets for each of the state awards are on the White House press release webpage:

Previous Article FRA announcements awarding $8 billion for passenger rail projects expected tomorrow
Next Article Midwest wins big in $8 billion nationwide high speed and intercity passenger rail awards from federal stimulus

Secretariat services provided by The Council Of State Governments' Midwestern Office.